6.4. International Environmental Law: Overview and Perspectives

Friday, May 21
16:00 - 17:15

Channel 4
BROADCAST
Open Access Live Stream

Track: 6. International Law. International Justice
Discussion session

 

This roundtable will take stock of the history and current state of international environmental law, while evoking avenues for future developments. It will address the merits and shortfalls of current instruments of environmental law, such as the 2015 Paris Agreement on climate change. Going further, it will look at recent reform proposals such as the Global Pact for the Environment initiative proposed by France at the United Nations. 

The Global Pact for the Environment is a proposed international treaty that aims to recognize the fundamental principles of environmental law on a global scale. A preliminary draft was devised by an international group of jurists in 2017. It has been under discussion at the United Nations since United Nations General Assembly Resolution 72/277 of 10 May 2018, entitled 'Towards a Global Pact for the Environment'. A Political Declaration will be adopted on the matter in 2022 at an international conference.

Both Russian and French presidents have identified the environmental question as a priority within the framework of the 'Trianon Dialogues'. As a result, this session could be of particular interest to international public law practitioners, diplomats, members of state regulatory bodies, judges, lawyers, members of international organizations and regional and international courts of justice.

The roundtable is organized with support of the Trianon dialogue.

Moderator

Pierre Levy

Ambassador of the French Republic to Russia

Biography

Pierre Lévy (born in 1955) was recently ambassador of France to Poland (2016 - 2019) after being European Union Director at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (2013 - 2016) and ambassador of France to the Czech Republic (2009 - 2013).

He previously served as Director of the Policy Planning Staff of the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs (CAP : Centre d’analyse et de prévision 2005 - 2009).

He was Secretary General of the Commission of the White Paper on France’s foreign and European policy between October 2007 and July 2008. He was between 2002 and 2005 head of the Service for Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP).

He was previously deputy head of the cabinet of the Minister for European Affairs (1997 - 2002). He has held various positions at the Quai d’Orsay, as assistant director at the Department of Economic and Financial Affairs, and at the Department for European Cooperation.

He served at the French Embassies in Germany and Singapore, after holding several positions at the Ministry of Economy and Finance, dealing with trade policy and economics relations with Asia.

Pierre Lévy holds degrees from the European School of Management (ESCP Europe), the Paris Institute of Political Studies (Institut d’études politiques de Paris), and a master degree in economics (DEA) from the University Paris IX Dauphine.

He is a former student of the École Nationale d’Administration (schoolyear "Solidarité" 1983).

Knight of the Légion d’honneur.  Officer in the National Order of Merit.

Speakers

Yann Aguila

Professor at Sciences Po Paris, Partner, Bredin Prat

Biography

Professor at Sciences Po Paris and partner at Bredin Prat, a law firm in Paris, where he heads the firm’s Public Law practice.

Prior to joining the bar, he was judge at the French Administrative Supreme Court, the Conseil d’État (1990/1995 – 2001/2011). He also acted as legal adviser to the President of the Republic of Senegal (1995-2001). In 2014, he was awarded the 2014 Law Book Prize for his book Droit public français et européen (in French) («French and European public law»).

He chairs the Environment Commission of the French think tank “Le Club des juristes”.

He has authored several reports on environmental law, including “Increasing the Effectiveness of International Environmental Law – Duties of States, Rights of Individuals” in 2015.

He is one of the initiators of the Global Pact for the Environment, which was drafted in 2017 by an international network of about 100 experts. He is the Executive Director of the Global Pact Coalition, an association which aims to promote the Global Pact project.

Anatoly Kapustin

First Deputy Director, Institute of Legislation and Comparative Law under the Government of the Russian Federation

Biography

Doctor of Law, Professor, Honored Scientist of the Russian Federation.

Graduated in 1980 from the Faculty of Economics and Law (Department of Law) People's Friendship University named after P. Lumumba, specialty 'International Law'. In 1984 defended PhD  thesis (Candidate of Law), in 2001 defended his thesis for the degree of Doctor of Law.

1983-2010-Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, Head of the Department of International Law, Dean of the Law Faculty of the Peoples 'Friendship University named after P. Lumumba (Peoples' Friendship University of Russia).

From 2010-to present-Head of the Center for Comparative Legal  Studies of the Institute of Legislation and Comparative Law under the Government of the Russian Federation, Head of the Center for Educational Programs of the Institute, Deputy Director of the Institute, First Deputy Director of the Institute, Scientific Director of the Institute, Acting Head of the Department of Foreign Constitutional, Administrative, Criminal Legislation and International Law of the Institute, Head of the Department of International Law of the Institute.

His research interests include the study of current problems in the theory and practice of International Law.

President of the Russian Association of International Law, member of the Executive Board of the Association of International Law (London, UK).

Maria Magdalena Kenig-Witkowska

Professor of Legal Sciences, Full Professor, University of Warsaw

Biography

Professor of Legal Sciences and the Full Professor at the University of Warsaw and a visiting lecturer at a number of universities in Europe, Africa, Asia and the USA.

The author of many publications in the field of international and European environmental law, and an expert and legal advisor in the field of environmental law for a wide range of international bodies and organisations including: UNEP, UNDP, UNECA, the EU and national authorities.

The Chairwoman of the Program Council of the 'Civic Society' foundation.

Maria Magdalena Kenig-Witkowska has won the Judge Manfred Lachs Prize and the Ministry of Science and Higher Education Award for outstanding scientific achievements.

She is a member of the group of experts working on the draft Global Pact for the Environment ('Group of Experts for the Pact').

Nicholas A Robinson

Executive Governor of the International Council of Environmental Law, Professor Emeritus, Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University

Biography

Executive Governor, International Council of Environmental Law and Professor Emeritus, Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University.

From 1974 to 1992, he was a US delegate to the environmental law consultations with the Soviet Union under the 1972 USA-USSR Agreement on Cooperation in the Field of Environmental Protection. 

He participated in the drafting for IUCN/ICEL of both the UN World Charter for Nature (Res. 37/7 of 1982) and Convention on Biodiversity.

He attended the 1972 Stockholm Conference on the Human Environment and the 1992 Rio Conference on Environment and Development (“Earth Summit”) and other international consultations to advance environmental law.

He edited the preparatory work for the 1992 Earth Summit, and has published numerous books and articles. He served as Legal Advisor to IUCN, was elected twice to chair IUCN’s World Commission on Environmental Law, and led establishment of the IUCN Academy of Environmental Law.

Aleksandr Solntsev

Deputy Head of the Department of International Law, Peoples' Friendship University of Russia

Biography

Studed at RUDN University and at the University of Amsterdam. Author of the course and textbook 'Human Rights and Environment' (Moscow, 3rd ed., 2021). Author of over 600 scientific papers published in Russia and abroad and a series of interviews with leading foreign experts in the field of environmental law, which are published in the "Eurasian Law Journal" (Nick Robinson, Marjan Peeters, Jutta Brunnee). Co-initiator of the project for the publication in Russian of international environmental agreements with comments (currently 4 issues have been published). Took part in the preparation of the Encyclopedia of Environmental Law (Edward Elgar Publishing). Member of the European Society of International Law (Group on International Environmental Law), the European Environmental Law Forum, the World Commission on Environmental Law of the International Union for Conservation of Nature. Took part in the preparation of Russia's voluntary national report on the Sustainable Development Goals (2019). Annually organizes a round table on international environmental law in English as part of the international congress 'Blischenko Readings' at RUDN University.

Patricia Teles

Member of the United Nations International Law Commission, Professor of International Law, Autonomous University of Lisbon


* The Programme may be subject to change

6.4. Международное право окружающей среды: обзор и перспективы

Пятница, 21 Мая
16:00 - 17:15

Канал 4
ОНЛАЙН-ТРАНСЛЯЦИЯ
Онлайн-трансляция в открытом доступе

Трек: 6. Международное право. Международное правосудие
Дискуссионная сессия

https://dialogue-trianon.ru/  https://ru.ambafrance.org/

На этом круглом столе будут рассмотрены история и текущее состояние международного экологического права, а также указаны направления для будущих разработок. В нем будут рассмотрены достоинства и недостатки существующих инструментов экологического права, таких как Парижское соглашение об изменении климата 2015 года. Далее будут рассмотрены недавние предложения по реформе, такие как инициатива «Глобальный пакт об охране окружающей среды», предложенная Францией в Организации Объединенных Наций.

Глобальный пакт об окружающей среде - это предлагаемый международный договор, целью которого является признание основополагающих принципов экологического права в глобальном масштабе. Предварительный проект был разработан международной группой юристов в 2017 году. Он обсуждался в Организации Объединенных Наций с момента принятия резолюции 72/277 Генеральной Ассамблеи Организации Объединенных Наций от 10 мая 2018 года под названием «На пути к Глобальному пакту по окружающей среде». Политическая декларация по этому поводу будет принята в 2022 году на международной конференции.

Президенты России и Франции определили экологический вопрос как приоритетный в рамках «Трианонских диалогов». В результате данная сессия может представлять особый интерес для практиков международного публичного права, дипломатов, членов государственных регулирующих органов, судей, юристов, членов международных организаций, а также региональных и международных судов.  

Круглый стол проводится при поддержке Трианонского диалога.

Модератор

Леви Пьер 

Посол Франции в России

Биография

Пьер Леви, 1955 года рождения, имеет ранг полномочного министра высшего класса. Являлся Послом Франции в Польше (2016 – 2019г.г.), ранее — Директором Департамента Европейского Союза Министерства иностранных дел Франции (2013 – 2016г.г.) и Послом в Чешской Республике (2009 – 2013г.г.).

Занимал должности Директора Центра анализа и прогнозирования (C.A.P.) Министерства иностранных и европейских дел Франции (2005 – 2009г.г.) и Генерального секретаря комиссии по составлению Белой книги по внешней и европейской политике Франции (октябрь 2007г. – июль 2008г.).

С 2002г. по 2005г. — Руководитель Службы общей внешней политики и политики безопасности (PESC) Министерства иностранных дел Франции. С июня 1997г. по май 2002г. — Заместитель Директора кабинета Пьера Московиси, полномочного министра по европейским делам. Занимал должности Начальника Отдела в Управлении сотрудничества, Управлении по экономическим и финансовым вопросам, затем в Управлении европейского сотрудничества.

Работал в посольствах Франции в Германии и в Сингапуре. Ранее занимал различные должности в Министерстве экономики и финансов, касающиеся соответственно внешнеторговой политики и отношений со странами Азии. 

Пьер Леви — выпускник Европейской бизнес-школы (ESCP Europe), Парижского института политических исследований, имеет диплом углубленных исследований (DEA) по специальности «экономика» Университета Париж IX Дофин. Выпускник Национальной школы администрации (ENA), выпуск "Солидарность" (1983г.).

Кавалер ордена Почетного легиона, Офицер Национального ордена «За заслуги».

Спикеры

Агила Янн 

Адвокат, профессор Института политических исследований Парижа (Science Po), партнёр, Bredin Prat

Биография

Профессор Института политических исследований Парижа (Science Po) и партнер парижской юридической фирмы Bredin Prat, где он возглавляет практику публичного права.

До прихода в адвокатуру он был судьей Верховного административного суда Франции (1990/1995 - 2001/2011 гг.). Он также выступал в качестве юрисконсульта Президента Республики Сенегал (1995-2001 годы). В 2014 году ему была присуждена премия "Юридическая книга 2014 года" за его книгу "Droit public français et européen" (на французском языке) («Французское и европейское публичное право»).

Председатель Комиссии по окружающей среде французского аналитического центра «Le Club des juristes».

Является автором нескольких докладов по экологическому праву, в том числе «Повышение эффективности международного экологического права - обязанности государств, права физических лиц» в 2015 году.

Является одним из инициаторов Глобального пакта по окружающей среде, который был разработан в 2017 году международной сетью, состоящей из около 100 экспертов. Исполнительный директор Коалиции за Глобальный пакт - ассоциации, целью которой является содействие проекту «Глобальный пакт».

Капустин Анатолий Яковлевич

Первый заместитель Директора, Институт законодательства и сравнительного правоведения при Правительстве РФ

Биография

Доктор юридических наук, профессор, заслуженный деятель науки Российской Федерации.

Окончил в 1980 г. факультет экономики и права (отделение права) Университета дружбы народов им. П. Лумумбы, специальность «Международное право». В 1984 г защитил диссертацию на соискание ученой степени кандидата юридических наук, в 2001 г. защитил диссертацию на соискание ученой степени доктора юридических наук.

В 1983-2010 гг. – ассистент, доцент, профессор, заведующий кафедрой международного права, декан юридического факультета Университета дружбы народов им. П. Лумумбы (Российского университета дружбы народов).

C 2010 г. по настоящее время - заведующий Центра сравнительно-правовых исследований Института законодательства и сравнительного правоведения при Правительстве Российской Федерации, заведующий Центра образовательных программ Института, заместитель директора Института, первый заместитель директора Института, научный руководитель Института, и.о. заведующего отделом зарубежного конституционного, административного, уголовного законодательства и международного права Института, заведующий отделом международного права Института.

Сфера научных интересов включает исследование актуальных проблем теории и практики международного права.

Президент Российской ассоциации международного права, член Исполнительного совета Ассоциации международного права (Лондон, Великобритания).

Кениг-Витковска Мария Магдалена 

Профессор юридических наук, профессор Варшавского университета

Биография

является профессором юридических наук и полноправным профессором Варшавского университета, а также приглашенным лектором в ряде университетов Европы, Африки, Азии и США.

Автор многих публикаций в области международного и европейского экологического права, а также эксперт и юридический консультант в области экологического права для широкого круга международных органов и организаций, в том числе: ЮНЕП, ПРООН, ЭКА ООН, ЕС и национальных органов власти.

Является председателем совета фонда «Гражданское общество».

Мария Магдалена Кениг-Витковска получила премию судьи Манфреда Ляхса и премию Министерства науки и высшего образования за выдающиеся научные достижения.

Является членом группы экспертов, работающей над проектом Глобального пакта по окружающей среде («Группа экспертов по Пакту»).

Робинсон Николас А 

Исполнительный управляющий Международного совета по экологическому праву и почетный профессор юридической школы Элизабета Хауба при Университете Пейс

Биография

Является исполнительным управляющим Международного совета по экологическому праву и почетным профессором юридической школы Элизабета Хауба при Университете Пейс.

С 1974 по 1992 год был делегатом США на консультациях по экологическому праву с Советским Союзом в рамках Соглашения 1972 года между США и СССР о сотрудничестве в области охраны окружающей среды.

Участвовал в подготовке для МСОП/ Международный совет по экологическому праву (МСЭП) проекта как Всемирной хартии природы ООН (Рез. 37/7 1982 г.), так и Конвенции о биоразнообразии.

Участвовал в Стокгольмской конференции по проблемам окружающей человека среды 1972 года и в Конференции по окружающей среде и развитию 1992 года в Рио-де-Жанейро («Саммит Земли»), а также в других международных консультациях по вопросам развития права окружающей среды.

Редактировал подготовительные материалы для Саммита Земли в 1992 г. и опубликовал многочисленные книги и статьи. Он был юрисконсультом МСОП, дважды избирался председателем Всемирной комиссии по экологическому праву МСОП и руководил созданием Академии экологического права МСОП.

Солнцев Александр Михайлович

Заместитель заведующего кафедрой международного права, Российский университет дружбы народов

Биография

Получил образование в РУДН и в Амстердамском университете. Автор курса и учебника «Экологические права человека» (Москва, 3-е изд., 2021). Автор более 600 научных работ, опубликованных в России и за рубежом и серии интервью с ведущими зарубежными специалистами в области экологического права, которые публикуются в "Евразийском юридическом журнале" (Н. Робинсон, М. Питерс, Ю. Брунни). Со-инициатор проекта по опубликованию на русском языке международных экологических соглашений с комментариями (в настоящее время вышли 4 выпуска). Принял участие в подготовке Энциклопедии экологического права (Edward Elgar Publishing). Член Европейского сообщества международного права (группа по международному экологическому праву), Европейского форума экологического права, Всемирной комиссии по экологическому праву Международного Союза охраны природы. Принимал участие в подготовке добровольного национального отчета России по Целям устойчивого развития (2019 г.). Ежегодно организует круглый стол по международному экологическому праву на английском языке в рамках международного конгресса «Блищенковские чтения» в РУДН.

Телеш Патрисия 

Член Комиссии международного права ООН, профессор международного права, Автономный Университет Лиссабона


* В программе возможны изменения