Forum starts in
 

5.5. History of Innovation and (Legal) Controversy in Art

Wednesday, 15 May
16:30 - 18:30

Guards Hall, General Staff Building (6-8, Dvortsovaya sq.)

"Every person shall have the right to search for, receive, transfer, produce and disseminate information by any means permitted by law".*

The right to self-expression through creating a piece of art or writing a book is directly associated with the right to see a piece of art or to read a book. This means access to the results of intellectual activity and, in a boarder sense, access to information as a special kind of intangible benefit. The freedom of artistic creativity is a specific instance of the freedom to receive and disseminate information and exchange ideas.

The world is evolving and changing the perception of the facts of life. Things that used to be impermissible, immoral, provocative or "wrong" were criticised, banned and even destroyed in a certain historical period, but they still affected society. Views were changing. Both ideas and material objects that were initially rejected become the norm, and sometimes even deemed cultural heritage. The historical record is peppered with examples. The works of Michelangelo, Manet, Voltaire and many others have travelled a challenging path from denial and bans, to recognition and veneration.

A similar story is told in many spheres, both in arts and literature, and in science and business. Before becoming conventional and "normal", cars and aircraft travelled a thorny path through conflict, resistance and restrictions to becoming acceptable and permissible. Regulation had to follow technological, industrial and worldview changes. Law undergoes amendments along with the changes in the vision of the world: IP law, commercial law, information law, etc.

Innovation always provides for bilateral relations between the artist and spectator, the inventor and user, and the producer and consumer. The right of the one correlates with the right of the other. In this case, the role of a third party - the regulator -  is important, on one part, to set the boundaries of what is permitted and, on the other part, to support and develop innovation giving an artist, writer or inventor an opportunity to demonstrate the results of his/her work, and giving a spectator, user or consumer a chance to find and receive necessary information easily.

Culture professionals and lawyers will take part in the discussion.

 

* Part 4 of Article 29 of the Constitution of the Russian Federation.

Moderator

Yana Miloradovskaya

Editor-in-Chief, Sobaka.ru

Biography

Mrs. Miloradovskaya was appointed as Editor-in-chief of Sobaka.ru in 2007.

Mrs. Miloradovskaya is a creative director of the all-Russian network Sobaka.ru, which is a media brand about outstanding people from St. Petersburg. Multimedia projects of Sobaka.ru are published in 20 cities of Russia.

Mrs. Miloradovskaya studied art history at the Faculty of History of St. Petersburg State University. Before the collaboration with Sobaka.ru magazine Mrs. Miloradovskaya worked as a junior researcher at the State Russian Museum as well as the head of the culture department of the news portal on Mail.Ru.

Speakers

Elena Kalnitskaya

General Director, State Museum Reserve 'Peterhof'

Till Olbrich

Deputy General Counsel, Philip Morris International

Biography

Mr. Olbrich was appointed Deputy General Counsel in 2017.

Mr. Olbrich is Deputy General Counsel at Philip Morris International where he manages a group of 240 lawyers and legal professionals around the world. Since he joined the company in 2005, he has held a wide range of positions in the Law Department and Corporate Affairs, covering such areas as brand protection, supply chain practices, product development, tobacco product regulation, sustainability, litigation, public policy and commercial law.

Mr. Olbrich studied law in Germany and Switzerland. He holds a degree from the University of Leipzig and is admitted to the bar in Germany. Prior to Philip Morris International, Mr. Olbrich worked in private practice at the law firms of Hengeler Mueller in Germany and Wachtell Lipton in the United States.

Mikhail Piotrovskiy

General Director, The State Hermitage Museum

Aleksandr Sergeev

Professor of the Civil Law and Procedure of the Law Faculty, HSE University in Saint Petersburg

Biography

Alexander Sergeev, Doctor of Law, is a recognized expert in the area of civil law and intellectual property regulation.

In addition to scientific and scholastic activities, Alexander Sergeev has been advising private companies and organizations for over twenty five years. He has represented his clients' interests in courts of various instances, including the Constitutional Court of Russia, the Supreme Court of Russia and the Supreme Arbitration Court of Russia, as a representative to parties and an expert. Alexander Sergeev has acted as an expert on Russian law in international and foreign arbitration and state courts on several occasions.

Alexander has membership with a number of scientific, advisory and editing councils; in 2000-2010 he sat as a member on the expert council to the Supreme Personnel Review Board of the Russian Federation. Alexander Sergeev is the President of the International Court of Arbitration UST (St Petersburg) and a judge of the International Commercial Arbitration Court to the Chamber of Industry and Commerce of the Russian Federation and of a number of other courts of arbitration.

Professional experience

  • 2006 – present Counsel, DLA Piper
  • 2015 – present Director of the civil law and civil procedure department, Branch of National Research University Higher School of Economics in St Petersburg
  • 2006 – 2015 Director of the civil law department, Law Faculty, St Petersburg State University of Economics
  • 1992 – 2006 Director of the civil law department, Law Faculty, St Petersburg State University

Publications

Alexander Sergeev is the author of over 180 scientific works, including 16 monographs on civil, copyright and patent law issues. He is a co-author and editor of a three-volume textbook on civil law, the editorial board of which received the highest award of the Association of law schools and departments of Russia for creating the best national textbook for law schools, and in 2002, – the award of the Russian government in the sphere of education (State Award). Alexander Sergeev is a co-author and editor of the Commentary to parts one, two, three and four of the Civil Code of Russia, the author of a fundamental monograph "Intellectual property rights in the Russian Federation". Since 1992 he has been participating in the drafting and analysis of numerous legislative acts in Russia as well as the laws and by-laws of St Petersburg.

Awards

Alexander has been conferred a number of national awards for merits in scientific and scholastic activities. In 1996 he was recognized as the Best Lawyer of St Petersburg and awarded a prize 'For merits in legal science.' Alexander is awarded the Order of Friendship, A. Koni medal, medal in Commemoration of 300th Anniversary of St Petersburg and others. He was awarded the title of 'Honoured Worker of the Higher School.'

Best Lawyers recognises Alexander as being one of the best lawyers in Russia in Intellectual Property and Dispute Resolution in 2010-2016. He was recognised as the 'Lawyer of the Year' in Russia in Dispute Resolution (2010, 2014) and Intellectual Property (2013, 2015, 2016) in the same ranking.

Nikolay Uskov

Editorial Director of Russian Forbes

Biography

Mr. Uskov was appointed as an Editorial Director of Forbes Russia in 2019.

Mr. Uskov is an author of the book «Unknown Russia. The Amazing Story» and also of a series of detective books and science materials. Nikolay became an award winner of «Russian Gold feather» for high creative achievements. During the career he works with global brands and projects.

Mr. Uskov studied history at Lomonosov Moscow State University. Nikolay learned the medieval period of history and this theme is one of the interesting knowledges for him. Mr. Uskov was Head of the top glossy issues in Russia – Men’s Health, GQ, GQ Style, Forbes and «Snob» project in 2000 - 2018; was a founder of GQ Bar along with one of the popular restauranteurs Arkadiy Novikov, and other business partners.


* The Programme may be subject to change

До Форума
 

5.5. История инноваций и (правовых) противоречий в искусстве

Среда, 15 Мая
16:30 - 18:30

Зал Гвардии, Главный штаб (Дворцовая площадь, д. 6-8)

Трек: 5. Культура. Наука. Образование. Спорт
Дискуссионная сессия

«Каждый имеет право свободно искать, получать, передавать, производить и распространять информацию любым законным способом».*

Право на самовыражение через создание произведения искусства, написание книги непосредственно связано с правом увидеть произведение искусства, прочесть книгу. Речь идет о доступе к результатам интеллектуальной деятельности, а в более широком смысле – доступе к информации как особого рода нематериальному благу. Свобода художественного творчества – частный случай свободы получать и распространять информацию, обмениваться идеями.

Мир меняется, меняется восприятие окружающей действительности. То, что считалось, недопустимым, аморальным, провокационным, «неправильным», на определенном историческом этапе порицалось, запрещалось, уничтожалось, но влияло на общество. Менялись взгляды. Как идеи, так и материальные объекты, изначально отвергавшиеся, становятся нормой, порой воспринимаются как культурное наследие. Тому много примеров в истории. Работы Микеланджело, Мане, Вольтера, многих-многих других прошли непростой путь от отрицания и запретов, до признания и почитания.

Так происходит во многих сферах – и в искусстве, и в литературе, и в науке, и в бизнесе. Прежде чем стать обычными и «нормальными» автомобили и самолеты тоже прошли тернистый путь – через конфликт, неприятие и ограничения к приемлемому и допустимому. Регулирование вынуждено было следовать за технологическими, промышленными, мировоззренческими изменениями. Вместе с представлениями о мире меняется и право – право интеллектуальной собственности, коммерческое право, информационное право и т.д.

Инновации всегда предполагают двусторонние отношения художника и зрителя, изобретателя и пользователя, производителя и потребителя. Право одного коррелирует с правом другого. При этом важна и роль третьей стороны – регулятора – с одной стороны, для установления границ дозволенного, а с другой, для поддержки и развития новаторства, обеспечения художнику, писателю, изобретателю возможности показать результаты своего труда, а зрителю, пользователю, потребителю легко найти и получить нужную информацию.

В обсуждении примут участие деятели культуры и юристы.

 

* Часть 4 статьи 29 Конституции Российской Федерации.

Модератор

Милорадовская Яна 

Главный редактор журнала Собака.ру

Биография

Г-жа Милорадовская была назначена главным редактором журнала Собака.ru в 2007 году.

Г-жа Милорадовская также является креативным директором всероссийской сети Собака.ru – медиа-бренда о выдающихся людях Петербурга. Мультимедиа-проекты Собака.ru выходят в 20 городах России.

Г-жа Милорадовская изучала искусствоведение на историческом факультете СПбГУ. До начала сотрудничества с изданием Собака.ru г-жа Милорадовская работала младшим научным сотрудником в Государственном Русском музее, а также в качестве заведующей отделом культуры на новостном портале, входящем в состав Mail.Ru.

Спикеры

Кальницкая Елена Яковлевна

Генеральный директор, Государственный музей-заповедник «Петергоф»

Олбрик Тилл 

Заместитель Генерального советника по юридическим вопросам, Philip Morris International

Биография

Г-н Олбрик был назначен Заместителем Генерального советника по юридическим вопросам компании «Филип Моррис Интернэшнл» в 2017 году.

Г-н Олбрик руководит группой из 240 юристов и экспертов, работающих в разных странах мира. С момента начала работы в компании в 2005 году он занимал различные должности в Юридическом отделе и Отделе по корпоративным вопросам. На протяжении своей карьеры в компании он занимался правовыми вопросами в таких областях, как защита прав на бренды, правила закупок, разработка продуктов, табачное регулирование, устойчивое развитие, судебные споры, публичное и коммерческое право.

Г-н Олбрик изучал право в Германии и Швейцарии. Он закончил Университет Лейпцига и допущен к юридической практике в Германии. До присоединения к компании «Филип Моррис Интернэшнл» г-н Олбрик работал в юридических фирмах «Хенгелер Мюллер» в Германии и «Вочтелл Липтон» (США).

Пиотровский Михаил Борисович

Генеральный директор, Государственный Эрмитаж

Биография

Михаил Борисович Пиотровский родился в Ереване в 1944 году. Окончил Восточный факультет Ленинградского Государственного Университета по кафедре Арабской филологии (1967). С 1967 по 1991 год работал в Ленинградском отделении Института востоковедения, кандидат (1973) и доктор (1985) исторических наук. В 1991 году - заместитель, с июля 1992 – директор Государственного Эрмитажа.

М.Б. Пиотровский является автором более 300 научных работ, среди которых – каталоги арабских рукописей, работы по духовной и политической истории ислама и арабской культуры, археологии Аравии, музейному делу. Автор книг и авторских телевизионных программ, посвященных деятельности Эрмитажа.

М.Б. Пиотровский – академик Российской Академии наук, действительный член Российской Академии художеств, член Совета при Президенте РФ по культуре и искусству; профессор СПбГУ, заведующий кафедрой музейного дела и кафедрой Древнего Востока, декан Восточного факультета; президент Союза музеев России, председатель Попечительского совета Европейского университета в Санкт-Петербурге, член-корреспондент Германского археологического института, член Французской Академии надписей и изящной словесности, член Американской Академии искусств и наук.

Лауреат Президентской премии в области литературы и искусства (2003), в 2017 году награжден Государственной премией Российской Федерации.

Награжден многочисленными российскими и зарубежными государственными наградами.

Сергеев Александр Петрович

Профессор кафедры гражданского права и процесса юридического факультета, НИУ ВШЭ в Санкт-Петербурге

Биография

Александр Петрович Сергеев – доктор юридических наук, признанный эксперт в области гражданского права и правового регулирования интеллектуальной собственности.

Наряду с научной и педагогической работой, Александр Петрович более двадцати пяти лет занимается консультированием различных частных организаций и фирм. Он неоднократно выступал в судах различных инстанций, включая Конституционный Суд РФ, Верховный Суд РФ и Высший Арбитражный Суд РФ, в качестве представителя стороны и эксперта. Также Александр Петрович неоднократно выступал в качестве эксперта по российскому праву в международных и зарубежных арбитражных и государственных судах.

Александр Петрович является членом ряда научно-консультационных и редакционных советов, в 2000-2010 гг. он был членом экспертного совета Высшей аттестационной комиссии РФ (ВАК РФ). Александр Петрович является Президентом Международного Третейского Суда "ЮСТ" (Санкт-Петербург), а также судьей МКАС при Торгово-промышленной палате Российской Федерации и ряда других третейских судов.

Профессиональный опыт

  • 2006 по н/в Советник, DLA Piper
  • 2015 по н/в Заведующий кафедрой гражданского права и процесса юридического факультета НИУ ВШЭ в Санкт-Петербурге
  • 2006 - 2015 Заведующий кафедрой гражданского права юридического факультета Санкт-Петербургского государственного экономического университета (СПбГЭУ)
  • 1992 - 2006 Заведующий кафедрой гражданского права юридического факультета Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета (СПбГУ)

Публикации

Александр Петрович Сергеев является автором свыше 180 научных работ, в том числе 16 монографий по проблемам гражданского, авторского и патентного права. Он выступает соавтором и редактором 3-томного учебника "Гражданское право", авторский коллектив которого был награжден первой премией Ассоциации юридических вузов и факультетов России за создание лучшего в России учебника для юридических вузов, а в 2002 г. – премией Правительства РФ в области образования (государственной премией). Александр Петрович – соавтор и редактор Комментария к частям первой, второй, третьей и четвертой Гражданского кодекса РФ, автор фундаментальной монографии "Право интеллектуальной собственности в Российской Федерации", вышедшей в свет двумя изданиями. С 1992 г. он участвует в подготовке и экспертизе проектов многих законов Российской Федерации, а также законов и подзаконных актов Санкт-Петербурга.

Награды

Александр Петрович удостоен ряда государственных наград за заслуги в научной и педагогической деятельности. В 1996 г. он был признан лучшим юристом Санкт-Петербурга и удостоен премии "За успехи в юридической науке". Александр Петрович награжден "Орденом Дружбы", медалями А. Кони, к 300-летию Санкт-Петербурга и другими, также ему присвоено звание "Почетный работник Высшей школы".

В 2010-2014 гг. Александр Петрович был признан одним из лучших юристов России в сфере интеллектуальной собственности и разрешения споров (согласно рэнкингу Best Lawyers). Данный рэнкинг признал Александра Петровича "Юристом года" в России в категориях "Разрешение споров" (2010, 2014 гг.) и "Интеллектуальная собственность" (2013, 2015, 2016 гг.).

Усков Николай Феликсович

Редакционный директор российского издания журнала Форбс

Биография

Г-н Усков c 2019 и по настоящий момент является редакционным директором российского издания журнала Forbes.

Г-н Усков автор книги «Неизвестная Россия. История, которая вас удивит», а также серии детективов и ряда научных трудов. В 2017 году стал лауреатом премии «Золотое перо России» за высокие творческие достижения. На протяжение своей карьеры работал с крупнейшими брендами и проектами.

Г-н Усков учился в МГУ им. М.В. Ломоносова на Историческом факультете. Изучал медиевистику и тему раннего средневековья. Возглавлял издания Men’s Health, GQ, GQ Style, проект «Сноб», а также Forbes с 2000 по 2018 гг. Открыл GQ Bar в сотрудничестве с одним из самых популярных рестораторов России, Аркадием Новиковым, и другими партнерами.


* В программе возможны изменения