Forum starts in
 

9.3. Global Economic Concentration

Friday, 18 May
09:30 - 14:00

Lecture hall, General Staff Building (6-8, Dvortsovaya sq.)

The conditions of globalization and digitalization dictate new rules of antimonopoly control of transactions of economic concentration (M&A transactions). The ways of response of competition authorities to possible anticompetitive practices in the context of the 4th Industrial Revolution, when companies use new business models for global value chains, as well as the latest information technologies to increase their competitiveness require a review. This is due to the fact that global M&A transactions can contribute to the formation of a dominant position in the market for merging companies and inevitably reduce and eventually eliminate market competition.

In the era of the digital economy, when considering global transactions and conducting antimonopoly investigations, new methodological approaches to the analysis of the market and the definition of the boundaries of the commodity market are needed. In addition, the idea of ​​expanding cooperation both between competition authorities and with participants of global M&A transactions is seen as a promising one. Thus, the practice of using the waiver mechanism (refuse of confidentiality) allows for a permanent and full provision of close cooperation between regulators and parties to the transaction. Such refusals of confidentiality have become common practice in Europe and the United States. The system of refusal of confidentiality begins to be introduced in Russia.

During the session, participants will assess the risks of global M&A transactions on changing the structure of the market. In addition, the existing mechanism for controlling mega mergers and acquisitions will be analyzed. Participants will focus on the search for new regulatory approaches to the definition of markets when considering M&A transactions in the context of globalization, as well as the formulation of structural and behavioral requirements for participants of transactions.

Moderator

Andrey Tsyganov

Deputy Head, Federal Antimonopoly Service of the Russian Federation

Speakers

Anna Mirochinenko

Head of the the Department for Control over Agro-industrial Complex, Federal Antimonopoly Service of the Russian Federation

Mulalo Ratshisusu

Deputy Commissioner, Competition Commission of South Africa

Michael Reynolds

Of counsel, Allen & Overy LLP

Ioannis Lianos

Professor, University College London

Cristina Caffarra

Vice President, Charles River Associates

Aleksey Ivanov

Director, HSE-Skolkovo Institute for Law and Development

Anna Numerova

Partner, Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners

Biography

Anna Numerova has outstanding experience advising on a wide range of antitrust issues, including those related to M&A transactions and the transfer of assets by large local and international companies in Russia and abroad. She also represents clients before the Federal Antimonopoly Service of Russia (FAS Russia) as well as in arbitration courts, focusing on clients from banking, automotive, telecommunications, FMCG, B2B services, aircraft manufacturing, VoIP services and many other sectors.

Anna is a member of the General Council of Competition Experts Association, a member of the Government Commission on Competition and Development of Small and Medium-sized Businesses, a member of the Advisory Board on Advertising of the Federal Antimonopoly Service of Russia. Anna was involved in drafting of the Fourth antimonopoly package of laws.

She also plays an active role in the competition committees of the International Bar Association (IBA) and the American Bar Association (ABA). Anna is an associate professor at the Joint Department with the Federal Antimonopoly Service at the Higher School of Economics, School of Law.

Anna graduated from Moscow Humanitarian University in 2000. She holds a Master’s degree in private law from Russia’s School of Private Law (2008) and an LL.M. in International Business and Economic Law from Georgetown University Law Center (USA) (2011).

In 2015 Anna was awarded a Second-Class Medal of the Order of Merit for the Motherland.

Vitaly Pruzhansky

Partner, RBB Economics

Natalia Korosteleva

Partner, Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners

Biography

Natalia advises and represents clients in all areas of Russian competition law. She coordinates merger control approvals of domestic and international transactions, regularly appears before the Federal Antimonopoly Service during antitrust investigations in cases concerning abuse of dominance, concerted actions, cartels and vertical restraints, advises on business restructurings and market strategies to comply with antimonopoly regulations, as well as a variety of other matters.

She is a member of the Competition Experts Association, and a number of Advisory Councils at the Federal Antimonopoly Service of Russia. Thanks to her active involvement in drafting of laws, she has contributed to the drafting of inter alia the Second and the Third “Antimonopoly Packages” of laws, of amendments and additions to the federal laws “On Competition Protection” and “On Strategic Investments”, of the Governmental Regulation No. 583 (with respect to “vertical agreements”).

In 2016 Natalia has been named as one of the Global Competition Review’s Women in Antitrust, being the only lawyer from Russia to be featured among the 100 elite practitioners working on public and private aspects of antitrust litigation and enforcement across multiple jurisdictions.

Natalia Korosteleva graduated from the Law School of Krasnoyarsk State University in 2001 and the All-Russian State Tax Academy of the Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation in 2005. In 2008 she also completed a business law course at the International Law Institute, Washington, DC, USA.

Evgeny Bolshakov

Counsel, Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners

Biography

Evgeny Bolshakov specialises in antimonopoly regulations including those related to distribution agreements and antimonopoly law violations. He has extensive experience in protecting the interests of clients in course of the investigation carried out by the antimonopoly bodies, as well as in the appealing their decisions before courts.

Evgeny joined Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners in 2007. Recently, he has been involved in multiple competition law cases such as defending an industrial manufacturer in antimonopoly proceedings, designing a business structure in line with antimonopoly requirements, and contesting various FAS Russia decisions in courts.

He is a member of the Competition Experts Association and a number of the expert council with the FAS Russia. Evgeny participated in drafting the Second and the Third packages of amendments to Russian antimonopoly laws as well as the Decree on Approval of the General Exclusion with Respect to ‘Vertical Agreements’.

Evgeny holds a degree from Moscow State Law Academy and has also completed a training course at the International Law Institute, Washington D.C., USA.


* The Programme may be subject to change

До Форума
 

9.3. Глобальная экономическая концентрация

Пятница, 18 Мая
09:30 - 14:00

Лекторий, Главный штаб (Дворцовая площадь, д. 6-8)

Условия глобализации и цифровизации диктуют новые правила антимонопольного контроля сделок экономической концентрации. Требуют пересмотра меры реагирования органов по вопросам конкуренции на возможные антиконкурентные практики в условиях 4-й промышленной революции, когда компании используют для повышения своей конкурентоспособности новые модели ведения бизнеса в рамках глобальных стоимостных цепочек, а также новейшие информационные технологии. Это обусловлено тем, что глобальные сделки экономической концентрации могут способствовать формированию доминирующего положения на рынке у объединяющихся компаний и неизбежно сокращают и в конце концов устраняют рыночную конкуренцию.

В эпоху цифровой экономики при рассмотрении глобальных сделок и проведении антимонопольного расследования необходимы новые методологические подходы к анализу рынка, а также определению границ товарного рынка. Кроме того, перспективной видится идея расширения сотрудничества как между антимонопольными органами, так и с участниками глобальных сделок. Так, практика использования механизма отказа от конфиденциальности (waiver) позволяет на постоянной основе и в полной мере обеспечивать тесное сотрудничеств между регуляторами и сторонами сделки. Такие отказы от конфиденциальности стали обычной практикой в Европе и США. Система отказа от конфиденциальности начинает внедряться и в России.

В ходе сессии участники оценят риски глобальных сделок экономической концентрации на изменение структуры рынка. Кроме того, будут проанализированы существующие механизма контроля мега-слияний и поглощений. Участники сфокусируются на поиске новых регуляторных подходов к определению рынков при рассмотрении сделок экономической концентрации в условиях глобализации, а также к формулированию структурных и поведенческих требований к участникам сделок.

Модератор

Цыганов Андрей Геннадьевич

Заместитель руководителя, Федеральная антимонопольная служба Российской Федерации

Спикеры

Мирочиненко Анна Валерьевна

Начальник Управления контроля агропромышленного комплекса, Федеральная антимонопольная служба

Ратшисусу Мулало 

Заместитель руководителя, Комиссия по конкуренции ЮАР

Рейнольдс Майкл 

Советник, Allen & Overy LLP

Лианос Янис 

Профессор, Университетский колледж Лондона

Каффара Кристина 

Вице-президент, Charles River Associates

Иванов Алексей Юрьевич

Директор, Институт права и развития ВШЭ-Сколково

Нумерова Анна Альбертовна

Партнер, Адвокатское бюро «Егоров, Пугинский, Афанасьев и партнеры»

Биография

Анна имеет значительный опыт консультирования по самому широкому спектру вопросов антимонопольного права, в том числе в части сопровождения сделок по приобретению и передаче активов в России и за рубежом крупными российскими и иностранными компаниями. Она также представляет интересы клиентов в ФАС России и в арбитражных судах, преимущественно работая с клиентами в таких отраслях, как банковская, автомобильная, телекоммуникационная, FMCG, B2B услуги, авиаперевозки и производство авиационной техники, услуги VoIP, производство теплового электрооборудования.

Является членом Генерального Совета Ассоциации антимонопольных экспертов и НП «Содействие развитию конкуренции в странах СНГ», входит в состав Правительственной комиссии по вопросам конкуренции и развития малого и среднего предпринимательства и экспертного совета ФАС России по рекламе. Участвовала в разработке четвертого антимонопольного пакета.

Анна участвует в работе профильных комитетов International Bar Association (IBA) и American Bar Association (ABA). Является доцентом базовой кафедры ФАС России Национального исследовательского университета «Высшая школа экономики» (НИУ ВШЭ).

Окончила Московский гуманитарный университет по специальности «юриспруденция» (2000), имеет степень магистра частного права Российской школы частного права (2008) и степень магистра международного коммерческого права Джорджтаунского университета (Georgetown University Law Center), США (2011).

В 2015 году награждена медалью ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» II степени.

Коростелева Наталья Михайловна

Партнер, Адвокатское бюро «Егоров, Пугинский, Афанасьев и партнеры»

Биография

Сфера специализации Натальи – весь спектр вопросов антимонопольного права. Она участвует в согласовании сделок в рамках контроля над экономической концентрацией, согласованными действиями и инвестициями в стратегические отрасли, защищает интересы клиентов в спорах с федеральными и местными антимонопольными органами, а также привлекает сами регулирующие органы для защиты законных интересов клиентов.

Член Ассоциации антимонопольных экспертов, входит в ряд экспертных советов при Федеральной антимонопольной службе. Являясь активным участником законотворческого процесса, Наталья внесла вклад в разработку второго, третьего и четвертого антимонопольных пакетов, изменений и дополнений в законы №135-ФЗ «О защите конкуренции» и №57-ФЗ «О порядке осуществления иностранных инвестиций…», постановления Правительства РФ №583 в отношении новых случаев допустимости «вертикальных» соглашений, а также других законов и нормативных актов.

В 2016 году Наталья вошла в международный рейтинг Women in Antitrust, опубликованный изданием Global Competition Review, став единственным юристом из России, вошедшим в сотню лучших в мире женщин-юристов, практикующих в области антимонопольного права.

Юридический факультет Красноярского государственного университета в 2001 г. и Всероссийская государственная налоговая академия (2005 г.).

Большаков Евгений Александрович

Советник антимонопольной практики, Адвокатское бюро «Егоров, Пугинский, Афанасьев и партнеры»

Биография

Евгений представляет интересы клиентов в рамках рассмотрения антимонопольных дел в ФАС России, оспаривания решений ФАС в судебном порядке. Консультирует по вопросам выстраивания схем дистрибуции и иных договорных схем, а также имеет значительный опыт аудита деятельности компаний на соответствие антимонопольному законодательству и закону о торговле.

Евгений практикует право в России в течение более 13 лет. В 2007 г. он присоединился к Адвокатскому бюро «Егоров, Пугинский, Афанасьев и партнеры» в качестве юриста антимонопольной практики. За эти годы он принял участие в более чем трех десятках крупных антимонопольных дел, ряд из которых стали прецедентными.

Г-н Большаков является членом Ассоциации антимонопольных экспертов и участвует в законотворческой деятельности. Евгений принимал участие в разработке второго и третьего антимонопольных пакетов, а также постановления Правительства РФ в отношении новых случаев допустимости «вертикальных» соглашений.

Окончил Московскую государственную юридическую академию (2006 г.). В 2008 г. обучался в International Law University (Вашингтон, США).


* В программе возможны изменения