Forum starts in
 

5.1. Investment Arbitration: How to Ensure Fair Play Between Foreign Investors and Host States?

Thursday, 17 May
09:45 - 11:30

Hall #7, General Staff Building (6-8, Dvortsovaya sq.)

{logo}

Investment arbitration is the most frequently used method of resolution of the disputes between foreign investors and host states. Most of the bilateral and multilateral investment treaties give investors access to international arbitration in case of failures of the states to provide adequate protection of foreign investments. As UNCTAD reported, by 2017 the number of claims of investors against states has amounted to 767.

At the same time, the existing system of protection of foreign investments is currently challenged with the recent geopolitical events: the US plan to renegotiate the provisions of NAFTA and withdrew from Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), the European Union considers establishment of permanent investment court etc. One can hear more often today the concerns about how to maintain balance between regulatory powers of states (environmental protection, public health, national security) and their obligations under investment treaties to protect foreign investments?

These trends flag that the existing system of protection of foreign investments faces critical time. Nowadays, it is crucial more than ever to agree on the rules of fair play that will be suitable for all actors.

The session will gather Russian and international investment arbitration practitioners, arbitrators and representatives of state bodies.

The panelists will discuss:

  • Which role can play investment treaties in stabilizing investment policy of the state?
  • What may the future hold for Investor-State Dispute Settlement system? Is there a better mechanism than investment arbitration?
  • How to ensure balance between the legitimate expectations of foreign investors and states’ regulatory powers?
  • The overview of the recent topical investment arbitration awards.

Moderator

Anna Kozmenko

Senior Associate, Schellenberg Wittmer

Speakers

Mohamed Abdel Wahab

Founding Partner, Zulficar & Partners Law Firm,

Aliona Bitkivskaja

Associate Counsel, Singapore International Arbitration Centre

Eric Bloom

Partner, Winston & Strawn LLP

Eva Kalnina

Counsel, Levy Kaufmann-Kohler

Maxim Kulkov

Managing partner, Kulkov, Kolotilov & Partners

Christer Soderlund

Senior counsel, Morssing & Nycander AB, Sweden

Brigitte Stern

Emeritus Professor, Universite Pantheon-Sorbonne

Francis Xavier

Regional Head of Dispute Resolution, Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP

Biography

Areas of expertise: international arbitration, treaty arbitration, commercial litigation, banking and finance disputes, energy and resources

Образование, опыт работы:

Till present

Head, Disputes Practices

Till present

the Chairman of the Singapore CiArb

Till present

Party-nominated arbitrator of a Mauritius entity in a bilateral investment treaty (ICSID) dispute with the Government of India

Till present

Counsel for an Asean government, ICSID

2009

Senior Counsel, Disputes Practices

Дополнительная информация:

Mr. Xavier's area of expertise are corporate and commercial disputes especially in the areas of corporate, banking, property, financial and investment related claims and aviation law

He is a Chartered Arbitrator and is also on the Panel of Arbitrators of the Singapore International Arbitration Centre, the Kuala Lumpur Regional Centre for International Arbitration, the Kigali International Arbitration Centre (Rwanda) and the CiArb (UK) Panel of Arbitrators

Francis Xavier currently holds the following appointments: Chairman, Listings Appeals Committee, Singapore Stock Exchange; Chairman, Singapore Branch of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (UK); Jurisdictional Council Member representing Singapore, Inter Pacific Bar Association; Deputy Chairman of the Law Society Inquiry Panel; Member, Council of Law Reporting, Singapore Academy of Law; Member, Users’ Council, Singapore International Arbitration Centre; Faculty member, Approved Faculty List of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (UK).

His qualifications: Senior Counsel, Supreme Court of Singapore; Solicitor, Supreme Court of England and Wales; Chartered Arbitrator, CiArb; Fellow, Chartered Institute of Arbitrators , UK; Fellow, Singapore Institute of Arbitrators; Fellow, Singapore Academy of Law; Fellow, The Malaysian Institute of Arbitrators; Panel of Arbitrators, Singapore International Arbitration Centre; Panel of Arbitrators, Singapore Institute of Arbitrators; Panel of Arbitrators, Kuala Lumpur Regional Centre for Arbitration; Panel of International Arbitrators, Kigali International Arbitration Centre, Rwanda.


* The Programme may be subject to change

До Форума
 

5.1. Инвестиционный арбитраж: как обеспечить fair play между инвесторами и государствами?

Четверг, 17 Мая
09:45 - 11:30

Зал #7, Главный штаб (Дворцовая площадь, д. 6-8)

{logo}

Инвестиционный арбитраж - наиболее часто используемый сегодня способ разрешения споров между иностранными инвесторами и государствами, принимающими инвестиции. Большинство действующих двусторонних и многосторонних инвестиционных договоров предоставляют инвесторам право обратиться в международный арбитраж в случае нарушения государством стандартов защиты иностранных инвестиций. По статистике Конференции ООН по торговле и развитию (ЮНКТАД), к 2017 году число исков инвесторов к государствам достигло 767.

В тоже время, существующая система защиты иностранных инвестиций подвергается испытаниям в связи с последними геополитическим событиями: США намериваются пересмотреть условия Североамериканского соглашения о свободной торговле (НАФТА) и вышли из Тихоокеанского партнерства (ТПП), Европейский Союз рассматривает создание постоянного инвестиционного суда и пр. Зачастую задаются вопросы о том, как найти баланс между регулятивными полномочиями государств (по охране окружающей среды, здоровья населения, национальной безопасности) и их обязанностями по защите иностранных инвестиций по международным инвестиционным договорам?

Эти тенденции – сигналы того, что наступил переломный момент для существующей системы защиты иностранных инвестиций. Сейчас, как никогда важно договориться о правилах fair play, которые будут устраивать всех игроков.

В качестве участников сессии выступят российские и зарубежные специалисты в сфере международного инвестиционного арбитража, арбитры, а также представители государственных органов.

Участники сессии обсудят:

  • Какую роль могут играть международные инвестиционные договоры в стабилизации инвестиционной политики государств?
  • Каково будущее системы разрешения споров между иностранными инвесторами и государствами? Есть ли лучший механизм, чем инвестиционный арбитраж?
  • Как соблюсти баланс между обоснованными ожиданиями иностранных инвесторов и регулятивными полномочиями государств?
  • Обзор последних актуальных решений инвестиционных арбитражей.

Модератор

Козьменко Анна Владимировна

Старший юрист, Schellenberg Wittmer

Спикеры

Абдель Вахаб Мохамед 

Партнер-основатель, Zulficar & Partners Law Firm

Биткивская Алёна 

Советник, Международный арбитражный центр Сингапура

Блум Эрик 

Партнер, Winston & Strawn LLP

Калнина Ева 

Советник, Levy Kaufmann-Kohler

Ксавьер Фрэнсис 

Глава по вопросам разрешения споров, Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP

Биография

Области специализации: международный арбитраж, арбитраж по вопросам международных договоров, коммерческие споры, споры в области банковского дела и финансов, ТЭК

Образование, опыт работы:

По настоящее время

Глава практики судебных споров

По настоящее время

Председатель отделения Королевского института дипломированных арбитров в Сингапуре

По настоящее время

Назначенный стороной арбитр в споре юридического лица из Маврикия с правительством Индии по вопросу двустороннего инвестиционного договора (ICSID)

По настоящее время

Советник правительства азиатской страны по вопросам ICSID

2009

Старший советник практики судебных споров

Область специализации г-на Ксавьер — корпоративные и хозяйственные споры, особенно в области корпоративной сферы, банкинга, недвижимости, финансов и инвестиций, а также воздушного права.

Сертифицированный арбитр, член совета арбитров в Международном арбитражном центре Сингапура, региональном центре международного арбитража в Куала-Лумпуре, Международном арбитражном центре Кигали в Руанде, а также Королевском институте дипломированных арбитров в Сингапуре.

В настоящее время занимает следующие посты: председатель Комитета Сингапурской биржи по апелляциям по вопросам листинга; председатель сингапурского отделения Королевского института дипломированных арбитров (Великобритания); представитель Сингапура в Юрисдикционном совете ассоциации юристов Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона; заместитель председателя Комиссии по информационным запросам Общества юристов; член Совета по подготовке сборников судебных решений в Сингапурской академии права; член Совета участников Международного арбитражного центра Сингапура; преподаватель Королевского института дипломированных арбитров (Великобритания) и др.

Квалификации: старший советник Верховного суда Сингапура; солиситор Верховного суда Англии и Уэльса; сертифицированный арбитр отделения Королевского института дипломированных арбитров в Сингапуре; член Королевского института дипломированных арбитров (Великобритания); член Сингапурской академии права; член Института арбитров Малайзии; член арбитражной коллегии Международного арбитражного центра в Сингапуре; член арбитражной коллегии Регионального арбитражного центра в Куала-Лумпуре; член международной арбитражной коллегии в Международном арбитражном центре Кигали в Руанде.

Кульков Максим Анатольевич

Управляющий партнер, Кульков, Колотилов и партнеры

Содерлунд Кристер 

Старший советник, Morssing & Nycander AB, Швеция

Штерн Бриджит 

Профессор, Университет Пантеон-Сорбонна


* В программе возможны изменения